What Is It?

MicroSociety is an educational approach in which a portion of the school day becomes a student-run miniature society, enhancing academics with real life application and problem solving. The society sets a foundation for leadership, entrepreneurship, and creativity and provides a context to motivate students to improve their academics in order to succeed.

Proven Model

MSI has a 30-year track record and supports 120 educational sites across the United States and in five countries. It has proven successful with every segment of the population — disadvantaged and advantaged, minority and majority — and has impacted the lives of more than 450,000 children and youth globally.

The Micro Model

Student & School Diversity

We work with students of diverse backgrounds…

  • 33% Hispanic, 31% African American, 29% Caucasian, 7% other
  • 68% elementary grades, 32% middle grades

…in all kinds of schools, in all kinds of settings.

  • 64% public, 18% charter, 15% magnet, 3% private
  • 66% urban, 19% rural, 15% suburban
  • 72% implement the whole school model and 28% the after-school curriculum

Dive Into a School

Impact

MicroSociety lifts student academic achievement, improves attitudes and engagement, and reduces discipline problems. It has a long record of success with at-risk populations, English language learners, and children with special needs. All MicroSociety students develop vital career and social emotional skills as they start and manage their own business ventures, nonprofits, and government agencies. We prepare them to navigate the future workplace, become active citizens, and take on our global challenges.

See the Results

Episode 2: Jameson Cohen’s Infectious Passion for Public Service

Adventures With Jaida

In this episode, Jaida interviews Jameson Cohen, the 18-year-old founder of Circle of Friends, about his passion for public service. Jameson launched Circle of Friends in New York City near the start of the Covid-19 pandemic with a plan to connect the children of essential workers with volunteer high school students for online tutoring. Today, Circle of Friends, whose services are entirely free, works with all kinds of families all over the country.

Learn More

Carolynn King Richmond, Ed.M, Esq.

President and CEO

cking@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006

Chris Bozzone

Director of School Partnerships and Community Relations

cbozzone@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006 ext. 100

Laura Mejia

Executive Director, South America

microsociety@sjc.edu.co

Milt Williams

Executive Director, Canada

microsociety.canada@gmail.com

Sandi Williams

Executive Director, Africa

swilliams@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006 ext. 160

Riva Richmond

Content Director

rrichmond@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Veronica Keenan

Program Assistant and Instagram Coordinator

vkeenan@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006 ext. 150

Robyn Pancoast

Communications Guru

rpancoast@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Nyla Gilstrap

Diversity and Equity Lead

ngilstrap@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Pam Coad

Senior International Consultant

pcoad@microsociety.org
(215) 407-5437

Suzanne Downing

Senior International Consultant

sdowning@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Marcos Navos

Technology Specialist

mrnavasuc@gmail.com

Francie Summers

Senior International Consultant

fsummers@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006

Donna Wilson

MicroSTEM, Senior Advisor

dwilson@microsociety.org
(215) 290-5437

Belief Statement

We believe in the power of kids and in their potential to do extraordinary things so much so that we challenge the status quo about who they are, what they can do, and how and from whom they learn. We help young people create their own world inside school and turn over the reins for them to manage it. We encourage them to design and manufacture products, sell them in their own marketplace of ideas, write and enforce their own laws, and along the way to grapple with the moral and ethical challenges that arise. Through the MicroSociety system, students learn the value and utility of their curriculum while making sense of their world.

    Want to receive our Kids In Charge stories?

    submit your email to receive updates from us.

    Email