What Is It?

MicroSociety is a national educational model that provides compelling real-life learning opportunities for K-8 students through the creation and operation of miniature societies. These societies, held during part of the school day, enhance academic lessons and provide platforms for young people to develop into leaders, entrepreneurs, creative forces and confident citizens. They also generate intrinsic motivation to do well academically because students understand school is key to their success.

Proven Model

MSI has a 30-year track record and supports 120 educational sites across the United States and in five countries. It has proven successful with every segment of the population — disadvantaged and advantaged, minority and majority — and has impacted the lives of more than 450,000 children and youth globally.

The Micro Model

Student & School Diversity

We work with students of diverse backgrounds…

  • 33% Hispanic, 31% African American, 29% Caucasian, 7% other
  • 85% elementary grades, 15% middle grades

…in all kinds of schools, in all kinds of settings.

  • 64% public, 18% charter, 15% magnet, 3% private
  • 66% urban, 19% rural, 15% suburban
  • 90% implement the whole school model and 10% the after-school curriculum

Dive Into a School

Impact

MicroSociety lifts student academic achievement, improves attitudes and engagement, and reduces discipline problems. It has a long record of success with at-risk populations, English language learners, and children with special needs. All MicroSociety students develop vital career and social emotional skills as they start and manage their own business ventures, nonprofits, and government agencies. We prepare them to navigate the future workplace, become active citizens, and take on our global challenges.

See the Results

MicroSociety's Story

The story of MicroSociety began in a Brooklyn classroom in 1967, where George H. Richmond, a young teacher, struggled to get his 5th grade students to pay attention in class. Fearing they would be consigned to lives of poverty without an education, he devised a creative plan to fire up their desire to learn and create lives of possibility.

His new way of teaching ultimately became a movement that has reached hundreds of schools and changed hundreds of thousands of lives. Watch our story to learn more.

Young Author, Anti-Bullying Activist Urges Youth To Serve Their Communities, Chase Their Dreams

Youth Now! With Chance

Jahkil Jackson is a 14-year-old author, anti-bullying activist, and philanthropist from Chicago who has helped thousands of people who are homeless. Through his nonprofit organization, Project I Am, Jakhil is on a mission to motivate youth to get involved in their communities and to chase their dreams no matter their age. Jahkil’s accomplishments include being recognized by President Barack Obama as one of 2017’s most influential people, being named a Youth Ambassador for Heartland Alliance, and much more.

Learn More

Carolynn King Richmond, Ed.M, Esq.

President and CEO

cking@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006

Laura Mejia

Executive Director, South America

microsociety@sjc.edu.co

Milt Williams

Executive Director, Canada

microsociety.canada@gmail.com

Sandi Williams

Africa Ambassador

swilliams@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006 ext. 160

Chris Bozzone

Director of School Partnerships and Community Relations

cbozzone@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006 ext. 100

Riva Richmond

Director of Content & Development

rrichmond@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Jess Dixon

Media Lead and Operations Assistant

jdixon@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006

Donna Wilson

Senior Program Advisor

dwilson@microsociety.org
(215) 290-5437

Nina Tortorice

Curriculum Consultant

ntortorice@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Francie Summers

Certified Senior International Management Consultant

fsummers@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006

Suzanne Downing

Certified Senior International Management Consultant

sdowning@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Allan Baile

Certified International Management Consultant

abaile@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Michelle Pedalino

Certified International Management Consultant

mpedalino@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Marcos Navos

Technology Advisor

mrnavasuc@gmail.com

Veronica Keenan

Operations Assistant

vkeenan@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006 ext. 150

Robyn Pancoast

Communications Guru

rpancoast@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Belief Statement

We believe in the power of kids and in their potential to do extraordinary things so much so that we challenge the status quo about who they are, what they can do, and how and from whom they learn. We help young people create their own world inside school and turn over the reins for them to manage it. We encourage them to design and manufacture products, sell them in their own marketplace of ideas, write and enforce their own laws, and along the way to grapple with the moral and ethical challenges that arise. Through the MicroSociety system, students learn the value and utility of their curriculum while making sense of their world.

    Want to receive our news?

    submit your email to receive updates from us.

    Email