Belief Statement

We believe in the power of kids and in their potential to do extraordinary things so much so that we challenge the status quo about who they are, what they can do, and how and from whom they learn. We help young people create their own world inside school and turn over the reins for them to manage it. We encourage them to design and manufacture products, sell them in their own marketplace of ideas, write and enforce their own laws, and along the way to grapple with the moral and ethical challenges that arise. Through the MicroSociety system, students learn the value and utility of their curriculum while making sense of their world.

The MicroSociety model has proven successful with every segment of the population, impacting the lives of 300,000 children and youth.

MSI supports 120 sites annually across the United States and sites in 5 countries.

60% of the schools are non-charter, non-magnet, and non-private schools.

On average, 72% of all MicroSociety sites are implementing the whole school model and 28% are implementing the after-school curriculum.

Our students come from many diverse backgrounds with 33% being Hispanic, 31% African American, 29% Caucasian and 7% representing other ethnic groups.

62% of students served are in elementary schools and 38% are secondary.

MicroSociety schools are located in all geographic regions that include 66% urban, 19% rural, and 15% suburban.

MicroSociety International (MSI) has a twenty-five year track record of success.

Latest Updates

Aspen Heights

Parkland Village School

Sageland Microsociety - "Invest" Best Practices Award Winner 2008

Pushing Boundaries in Education (MicroSociety) | Allan Baile | TEDxRedDee

Aspen Heights MicroSociety

Talbot Hill Micro Society: Creating business and civic leaders

Chris Bozzone

Director of School Partnerships and Community Relations

cbozzone@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006 ext. 100

Carolynn King-Richmond

President and CEO

cking@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006

Pam Coad

Vice President, Program

pcoad@microsociety.org
(215) 407-5437

Suzanne Downing

Regional Director

sdowning@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Tamara Holloway

Social Media Liaison

socialmedia@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Katie Kaleita

Media Guru

kidsincharge@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Robyn Pancoast

Communications Guru

rpancoast@microsociety.org
(215)-922-4006

Veronica Salazar

Program Assistant and Office Manager

vkeenan@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006 ext. 150

Francie Summers

Regional Director

fsummers@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006

Milt Williams

Executive Director, Canada

microsociety.canada@gmail.com

Sandi Williams

Chief of Operations and Strategic Partnerships

swilliams@microsociety.org
(215) 922-4006 ext. 160

Donna Wilson

Senior Adviser, Teaching & Learning

dwilson@microsociety.org
(215) 290-5437

Laura Mejia

Executive Director, South America

microsociety@sjc.edu.co